Holy Smokes! Instant Search…

Imagine a world with Google-like search for library catalogs. Wait a second – it’s already arrived in the form of Summon(TM). Another product from Serials Solutions, the company that brings us the engaging yet polarizing AquaBrowser interface.

Well, I was admittedly skeptical when reading the testimonials on the Summon site. I decided to read the case study for the Summon implementation at Dartmouth College. I clicked on the link and experimented with a search I have been laboring over for a few weeks while preparing a paper on image retrieval.

I am amazed and delighted. It makes the interface I have been working with look like a looming wooden card catalog. I located ten resources that were available in full text with handy citations nearly immediately. I am beholden.

Did I mention Serials Solution has an office right down the street from my home? I want to shake someone’s hand. Another company bringing the future of libraries right here and now. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

