The Elephant in the Room

Anyone pursuing an MLIS or working in a library setting currently knows that the search for that first library related job is rumored to be long and arduous. Luckily, there are many fine resources available online to help you through the process.

Sometimes I get paranoid about my lack of recent public facing library experience. Although I have staffed circulation and in fact, supervised students in document delivery at a busy academic library in the past, more recently I have been focusing on my interests – metadata, taxonomy, visual resources and digitization.

This blog post made me feel okay about my focus. To quote LibraryHat “Just as important as getting library work experience is doing the kind of work that one “wants to pursue” after the MLS.”

Here is a list of some other good posts or resources on the subject of the MLIS job hunt:

Leave a Reply

